Brian Smith (’00) Wins First Decade Award

Posted on July 6th, 2010 by

The Gustavus Alumni Association has named Dr. Brian Smith (’00) as the winner of its First Decade Award.

The First Decade Award recognizes early professional achievement. Criteria appropriate to selection include the difficulty of accomplishment; quality, creativity, and distinctiveness of performance; recognition by professional peers; and lasting contribution to the world of ideas and affairs.

Brian joins physics alumni Dr. Jason Smerdon (’98), Dr. Debra Lightly Mascaro (’95), Dr. Kirsten Tollefson (‘92), Dr. Annette Boman (‘88), Dr. James Wade (‘86) and Dr. Chad Olinger (‘85) as winners of this prestigious award.

After graduating from Gustavus, Brian pursued graduate studies at the University of Oregon, where he received a Ph.D. in physics in 2007. He is currently University Lecturer in Experimental Quantum Physics at Oxford University in England.

Brian, along with his wife Kelly, returned to campus over Commencement weekend 2010 to attend the award ceremony. He also plans to be back on campus this coming October during Homecoming for his 10-year class reunion, and will meet with current students to talk about his research. Congratulations, Brian!


Comments are closed.