Archive for March, 2015

Two Sophomore Women Receive National Awards

Two Gustavus sophomore physics majors were just announced as winners of Rossing Physics Scholarships for 2015-2016. These awards are made to “exemplary students in physics” by the Thomas D. Rossing Fund for Physics Education. Mikaela Algren ’17 was named a Rossing Physics Scholar and Grace Kerber ’17 was named a Rossing Physics Scholar–Honorable Mention. The […]

Gustavus First Decade Award Winners

With the announcement that physics alumna Dr. Kelly Cooper Younge (’05) has been awarded the Gustavus Alumni Association’s First Decade Award, this brings the number of physics alumni who have won that prestigious award to nine in the past 20 years. Past winners include Dr. Chad Olinger (’85), Dr. James Wade (’86), Dr. Annette Boman […]

Top Liberal Arts Origins of Physics Ph.D.’s

In the latest data from the National Science Foundation (NSF), Gustavus’ physics program is fourth among the top liberal arts colleges in America in terms of the number of graduates who go on to earn a Ph.D. in physics. In the NSF survey from 2004-2013, here are the top liberal arts colleges with their total […]